The Mariposa County Democratic Central Committee

Statement of California Democratic Party Chairman John Burton on "Trumpcare" Vote: As Congress considers repealing the Affordable Care Act, a law that has provided health insurance to more than 4 million Californians, our state’s representatives should know that they are on notice. They can either stand with the people who sent them to Washington D.C. and protect health care for the sick and vulnerable and those who need it most, or we will hold them accountable on Election Day.

All eyes are on our elected officials to do the right thing. Implementing the ill-conceived “Trumpcare” to line the pockets of the wealthy and leave the rest of us holding the bag is the wrong thing. Washington, D.C. may be 3,000 miles away, but none of this is happening in a vacuum. We are watching. And we are taking names.

Our next Central Committee meeting will be on April 8th. Martha Gamez, the current Region 4 Director, will be introducing us to Amy Champ. Martha is supporting Amy is running to replace Martha as our Region 4 Director when she retires.

The Mariposa County Democratic Central Committee (MCDCC) represents the Democratic Party in Mariposa County.  The MCDCC operates under its own by-laws, the California State Elections Code and the by-laws of the California State Democratic Party

In the pictures above (from video taken by the Sierra Sun Times) MCDCC Chair, Christina Oborn, Lisa Edelheit and Mary Wood, District 1 members, questioned CA CD 04 Representative Tom McClintock at the February town hall meeting in Mariposa. Christina asked what Republicans during the last eight years did beside obstruct constructive legislation, contributing to the divisiveness of the electorate. Lisa was concerned about the future of public schools and Mary's question about what plans the Representative had for assuring she would have affordable healthcare after the Republicans repealed the Affordable Care Act, made the national news.

The MCDCC held its reorganizational meeting in January, 2017, with election of officers and appointment of delegates. Many members participated in the Women’s March in Sacramento, Oakland, San Francisco and San Jose on January 21.  Heartened by the huge response to the March and the meteoric rise of the Indivisible movement nationwide, many MCDCC and Democratic Club members attended meetings of quickly forming local progressive action groups and found much in common. Three groups (Mariposa Action, Progressive Mariposa and Next Step) were invited to speak to the Democratic Club and to meet with the MCDCC to discuss collaboration.  During the February meeting, MCDCC members unanimously voted to collaborate on resources and activities in the service of shared goals.

The current focus of the Central Committee is on voter outreach and plans for supporting Democrats running for public office.

The MCDCC would encourage anyone that is registered as a Democrat in Mariposa County to consider becoming a member of the Committee or we would love to talk with you about other ways you can help grow the Democratic Party in Mariposa County. We have room for more members who live in County Supervisor Districts 2, 4 and 5, or you can serve as and alternate member if you live in Districts 1 and 3. if you want to help us elect Democrats and spread awareness of Democratic issues, let us know! If you are interested, contact our Chair, Christina Oborn, at mcdemcc@gmail.com.

The Mariposa County Democratic Central Committee charters the Mariposa Democratic Club and is responsible for chartering other clubs in the county that wish to be associated with the Democratic Party or use the name, “Democrat” or “Democratic”.

Mariposa Democratic Central Committee Officers

Chair: Christina Oborn

Vice Chair: Rosemarie Smallcombe

Secretary: Mary Wood

Treasurer: Steve Smallcombe

Executive Board Representative: Rosemarie Smallcombe


The MCDCC has slots or positions for 23 members distributed amongst the county’s 5 Supervisorial Districts.  The number of slots per district is allocated by the State Party in proportion to the number of Democrats that voted for Governor in each Supervisorial District, and thus can change after each Gubernatorial election.

Current membership in the MCDCC is as follows:

District 1:
Lisa Edelheit
Carmel Lozano
Rosemarie Smallcombe
Steve Smallcombe
Mary Wood

District 2:
Three Open Positions

District 3:
Cameron Burley
Kathy Lander
Suzette Prue
Michelle Stone

District 4:
Aaron Marcus
Three Open Positions

District 5:
Christina Oborn
Vicki Roland
Lowell Young
Two Open Positions

Ex-Officio Members:
Robert Carabas
Paulina Miranda
Robert Derlet

The MCDCC has elected 5 members to represent us at the California Democratic Party State Convention:
Carmel Lozano
Aaron Marcus
Christina Oborn
Rosemarie Smallcombe
Steve Smallcombe

This and related MCDCC page is under construction and not all links may work properly.